Tags

, , ,

I am in the business of words – I enjoy writing. I am glad I can try to make a living with words. But ever so often I realize that people, read clients, think it is all about just the words. The whole concept of paying by word count, and number of articles or blogs, feeds on this notion that a writer just puts words together. This is such a basic misconception that it is baffling.

If there is no intelligent thought behind it, it would be all about the words. A good writer makes a case each time she writes something. First of all, a well written piece has to communicate an idea. The rest is fluff, space fillers. The idea has to be laid out cohesively in a way that the target audience will understand. There should be a feeling that something worthwhile is being shared. It can be data or an insight but without this core value add, a reader will not stay engaged.

