Tags

, , , , ,

A blog a day – that is my resolution for 2011. Stating it in black and white is a big step. It is so much more difficult to wiggle out of a written commitment.

I ghostwrite as a professional writer. Deadlines are sacred and I kill myself to make sure that I don’t break any commitments. Yet, personal deadlines seem to fall under a whole different category – this client will understand. I can work on my own website slowly; there is no real emergency. Well, this client is going to get demanding. There is the need to do this and to do it regularly. It is to be an experiment in trying out all the SEO techniques and marketing practices that I have been learning and mastering.

So, I am hoping that this contract with myself will help. A long ago neighbor, an older gentleman in the apartment complex where I grew up, asked some of us kids what we wanted to be when we grew up. There were many different answers – doctor, teacher, musician.  This was the time before Internet and Facebook and so you didn’t hear things like blogger and social media marketing guru in those days! I digress. The point is that the neighbor typed out each of our aspirations and gave it to us on New Year’s day and asked us to sign it – he felt that having that as a written document will motivate us. I think his idea was brilliant – I was just too young then to really know what I wanted to be when I grew up. Now that I am older and wiser, I am taking his idea and writing this down.

I am going to write one blog a day.

