Tags

, , , , ,

Image courtesy of Doug Ray and Three Ships Media

Its highly likely you have seen this social media donut explanation by now – it has been pinned, tweeted, shared on FB walls and it started on Instagram! I love the simplicity of the explanation – and there’s no underestimating the power of Donut as the prop!

Here’s the back story and it’s fascinating – the folks at Three Ships Media did this as a fun exercise to replace their Punxsutawney Phil on the giant whiteboard in the office. There is an off-the-cuff, collaborative feel to how it came together that makes the narrative particularly appealing. I loved all the take-aways they have from their viral hit. Particularly, the points that sometimes the best ideas are the easiest and that low tech is okay!

I have been spending a lot of time on Pinterest lately – it’s such fun to browse and imagine myself trying out different DIY projects and cooking delicious recipes. It’s not about whether I really do all those projects – it’s that I am happy imagining. It is not the complex projects or the most elaborate visuals that get the most repins and likes. Which is why, the Three Ships Media points about the merit of simple and easy ideas resonates with me right now.

The more ways there are to communicate, the more critical it seems to be to find the clearest ideas to communicate. Does that make sense?

